Does Georgia require license plates for trailers?
Homemade trailers are required to have a serial plate attached before the trailer can be registered and issued a license plate. To obtain a serial plate for your homemade trailer, submit the signed and notarized Form T-23 Homemade Trailer Affidavit to the County Tag Office in the county in Georgia where you live.
Do I need to register my trailer in Georgia?
Georgia utility trailer laws require that you properly register your trailer as well as outfit it for safety and drive according to specific regulations.
Can you register a trailer online in Georgia?
Complete a Georgia Form MV-1, the motor vehicle title and tag application. The form is available online and must be typewritten, completed on a computer, or legibly printed, and signed before submission.
How much is a trailer tag in GA?
Serial plate must be permanently affixed to the trailer with rivets and a Georgia Law Enforcement Officer must complete Form T-22C certifying that the serial plate has been affixed to the trailer. Submit the completed Form T-22C to your County Tag Office with: $12.00 license plate fee. Applicable Ad Valorem tax.
What size trailer requires a license plate in Georgia?
The State of Georgia does not register the following tractors and trailers: A trailer weighing less than 3,500 pounds used exclusively to haul agricultural products from one place on the farm to another or from one farm or field to another.
Do you need insurance on a trailer in Georgia?
According to the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles, trailers are exempt from mandatory liability insurance regulations. You may want to consider purchasing additional trailer insurance to protect your investments.
How much is a permanent trailer tag in GA?
§ 40-2-151 – Annual license fees for operation of vehicles; fee for permanent licensing of certain trailers. (2) Any boat trailer, utility trailer, or noncommercial cattle and livestock trailer authorized to obtain a permanent registration and license plate under the provisions of Code Section 40-2-47 shall be $48.00.
Do you have to register a boat trailer in Georgia?
All boat trailers must be registered with the Georgia Motor Vehicle Division. Registration is done through your local County Tax Commissioners Office (Tag Office). Tax Office locations: https://mvd.dor.ga.gov/motor/tagoffices/SelectTagOffice.aspx.
What is required to get a tag in Georgia?
The following information is required:
- Valid Georgia’s driver’s license or ID card. Visit your County Tag Office.
- Proof of Ownership.
- Form MV-1 Title/Tag Application (this form can be printed at home or by the County Tag Office and will require your signature)
- Proof of insurance, by one of the following:
Do you need insurance to get a tag in Georgia?
Vehicle owner/lessees must provide Acceptable Proof of Insurance to: Register and receive a Georgia license plate on their vehicle. Renew, transfer or replace their Georgia license plate. Legally drive or maintain an actively registered vehicle.
What does class C mean on a Georgia driver license?
Class C (Commercial) – licenses are issued only if the vehicle is designed to carry sixteen or more passengers (including the driver), or utilized to transport hazardous materials in quantities that require a placard.
What year do you need a title in GA?
The Georgia Department of Revenue requires residents obtain a title before registering their vehicles if their vehicles were manufactured after 1985.
Do you need a license to register a trailer in Georgia?
Requirements for Utility Trailer Registration in Georgia. Assuming you own a utility trailer in Georgia, the state requires that you have it properly registered. Before you can register any vehicle in this state, you must first have a valid Georgia driver’s license.
What does a Georgia license plate on a boat trailer mean?
If you have a boat trailer in Georgia, it needs to have a Georgia license plate on its stern. You know what means: You have to register your boat trailer, just like you would a vehicle.
What are the requirements for a universal utility trailer in Georgia?
Universal Utility Trailer Requirements. Whether you are in Georgia or not, every U.S. state requires that your utility trailer have two features. First, it must have working taillights as a basic safety feature. Second, it needs to have a visible license plate with its own light.
Do you need a title for a boat trailer in Georgia?
A vehicle title is not required for a boat trailer. You have 30 days from the date of purchase, or the date you bring the trailer into the state, to register your trailer and put on Georgia plates, whether you’ve just moved to Georgia or you are already a Georgia resident.